Back in Business

Hello, World…again. I am back to my international photography blog after a year’s leave of absence due to illness. Feeling well now, I will be posting my photographs again on a weekly basis, at least. During the past year, I have ventured out to Bermuda, Cape Cod, Portsmouth NH and Kittery ME — all beautiful locations lit with full sunshine last August and September. I will post photos of 1) a lighthouse on the rocky coast of southern Maine and 2) the bay side beach of Eastham, Massachusetts. Both locations are buried in two feet of snow today!

Plans are in place for a fabulous new photo safari in July 2013, 10 days on the Big Island of Hawaii. I am looking forward to photographing the active volcano there from helicopter and boat if possible. I am sure we will also walk the desolate lava fields and snorkel off the West Coast.  I have snorkeled in Jamaica, Mexico, St. Lucia and Australia and was slow to get comfortable with it, but (as you can tell I kept trying) and I had a great snorkeling coach in the Great Barrier Reef where the rewards were amazing. I saw a terrific variety of coral and was _most_ excited to see the giant clams. It was fun to take some underwater photos. I had to have the underwater camera cleaned to remove the salt water damage to the lens motion, but now it is ready to go again.

My photo archives from around the world are extensive, and in the meantime I will re-explore many of the exciting locations I have visited in the past — so that I can post and share them with you. I have admired and studied the photography of Trey Ratcliff, author of the great travel blog, “Stuck in Customs.”  Trey has relocated to Queenstown, New Zealand, one of my favorite locations (so jealous!), and he keeps shooting and posting and blogging.  He is my inspiration. I recently joined his Paris Webinar and studied his processing techniques in Photomatix and Lightroom. There is always so much more to learn.

I hope you will follow my blog, now that I am back in business, and visit the locations page of my website: http://www.cathykellyphotography.com.  I am working on an even better website, which should launch in March. Keep in touch.

copyright Cathy Kelly

Author: cathykellyphotography

Independent photographer based in Pittsburgh PA and Naples FL. Nature, landscape and portrait photography. Portfolio includes international work in USA, Europe, Asia, Australia and New Zealand. Email cathykellyphotography@gmail.com to review work in your area of interest. Nature portfolio includes flowers and wildlife. Prints and digital files for sale. See website: www.cathykellyphotography.com.

Leave a Reply

