From Farm to Market

The marketplace was another scene that fascinated me while I traveled in Asia. Like the farm, the market represents a “down to earth” experience that I find missing in my daily American life. It reminds us of the simplicity of life within small communities before modern transportation, refrigeration, packaging and supermarket shopping changed lifestyles around the world.

While traveling in China, Thailand and Vietnam I found beauty in the natives bringing their food and artifacts to market. This post begins a new theme, MARKETPLACE, for my blog. And I begin with my favorite image — an old woman in Shanghai, sitting with her large cart of fresh vegetables. I share this image with you in both color and black and white. I think the monochrome image helps to make the scene timeless. Was this 2008 or 1958?

And rendered in monochrome with Silver Efex Pro:

I hope you noticed the bikes in the background. This is a foreshadowing of a future theme in my photography. I will be sharing with photographs that feature bicycles and mopeds in the future.

Author: cathykellyphotography

Independent photographer based in Pittsburgh PA and Naples FL. Nature, landscape and portrait photography. Portfolio includes international work in USA, Europe, Asia, Australia and New Zealand. Email cathykellyphotography@gmail.com to review work in your area of interest. Nature portfolio includes flowers and wildlife. Prints and digital files for sale. See website: www.cathykellyphotography.com.

Leave a Reply

