On the road again

Departing Saturday morning, November 2 for Bryce Canyon, UT. Cold weather has hit Bryce, and snow is predicted Monday, so get ready for some cool (freezing?) images next week. Night time lows are forecast to be 12, and we will be up before sunrise. Brrrr.

I know it has been a quiet time on the blog; I have been traveling quite a bit in the past few weeks. Last weekend, I was in Naples, FL watching the sun set into the Gulf of Mexico. Yes, these are fall colors, but they are found in the clouds.

Prior to the long weekend in Florida, I traveled to New York City to meet some very dear friends from Milan, Italy — the Sangregorio family. Our families have been friends since 1964 when my parents met Alberto and Graciella Sangregorion on the ship Christoforo Colombo on a transatlantic crossing. Since 1964, we have met each other and renewed our friendship in cities in Europe and America. My husband and I have met Alberto in Athens, Helsinki, Florence, Dublin, as well as Baltimore on our wedding day. Alberto’s son Antonio met me (with his parents) in Villars, Switzerland and Florence. His daughter Paola, met us in Paris, Venice and New York. Here is a photo of Antonio and his wife Silvana with his two children Paola and Alberto Jr. We met at the beautiful restaurant Robert above Columbus Circle. (When Antonio and I met in Villars, our parents took us to Chamonix and Mont Blanc. He was 14, and I was 19!) I am so thankful that our family friendship has endured.

After our luncheon and reunion, I walked to Rockefeller Center to see the ice rink open for the winter season. I took this photograph of Promethius, using the stone wall as my tripod. This image was much sharper that the ones I handheld. This image would be nice on a coaster/tile.

I best get to bed to be ready for my early flight to Las Vegas and the four hour drive to Bryce Canyon. Got my ski jacket and many layers along with gloves,hat and scarf and lots of cameras, lenses and filters — ready for the adventure. Check back soon!

Author: cathykellyphotography

Independent photographer based in Pittsburgh PA and Naples FL. Nature, landscape and portrait photography. Portfolio includes international work in USA, Europe, Asia, Australia and New Zealand. Email cathykellyphotography@gmail.com to review work in your area of interest. Nature portfolio includes flowers and wildlife. Prints and digital files for sale. See website: www.cathykellyphotography.com.

Leave a Reply

