Gardens with Latitude

It’s a rainy day in Naples, Florida. It has to rain _sometime_ in the tropics. And the weather is keeping me off the beach and indoors with my computer to review some of the recent photos I shot at the Naples Botanical Garden. The Garden’s slogan is “Gardens with Latitude,” making reference to the tropical plants it features.

Tropical water lilies, a butterfly garden and a variety of palms, grasses and succulents will keep you and your camera busy when you visit. Today, I will share with you three colorful plants that attracted my eye with their striking color and shapes. I shot these photos with my new Nikon D800, a 75mm lens and my Really Right Stuff tripod. I composed each frame by isolating the colorful bloom and taking note of the directional lines within the frame. Since I was close-up and the blooms were three dimensional, I used a high f-stop in order to keep each outreaching arm of the plant in focus. Working in the shade, yet wanting to maximize clarity and minimize grain, so I chose the ISO 200. Use of the tripod was very important, since the low light of the shade, low ISO and high f-stop will give me a … you guessed it, a longer exposure than you can successfully hand hold: from 1/8 second to 1/20 second. (You don’t want to hand hold a shot under 1/125, unless you have a Vibration Reduction lens. Even then, 1/60 may be your threshold.)

Here are my three images. When I learn the name of each plant, I will return to the blog and add them:

Thanks for sharing your time with me. Keep an eye out for a new blog post each week, now that the hectic holiday season has past.

Author: cathykellyphotography

Independent photographer based in Pittsburgh PA and Naples FL. Nature, landscape and portrait photography. Portfolio includes international work in USA, Europe, Asia, Australia and New Zealand. Email cathykellyphotography@gmail.com to review work in your area of interest. Nature portfolio includes flowers and wildlife. Prints and digital files for sale. See website: www.cathykellyphotography.com.

Leave a Reply

