Palm Monday

I love the palm tree’s silhouette. Palms are varied and provide an artistic foreground to a colorful sky. The mere sight of a palm tree makes me happy to be in Florida, Hawaii or the Caribbean — wherever my tropical travels may be. On this sunny Monday in Naples, I’d like to share with you a few of my favorite palm photographs.

I found these palms before a pre-dawn sky in Grand Cayman (1/27/14). Notice the crescent moon in the upper left quadrant. This original image, shot with my new Nikon D800 is very large, and will make a stunning print. Please contact me if you are interested in ordering.

GCM-sunrise_palm-0346LR

Looking at the same grouping of palms, I focused my composition on the one, and then changed the image to black and white, to accentuate the beauty of the silhouette. This image will also make a striking print. Please email me for more information.

BWpalm-0348LR

This palm enlivens a cloudy sky in Naples, Florida (4/10/13).

Naplespalm-0588LR

In Hawaii, palms grow right along the coast line (July 2013).

HIpalm-1877LR

This  one is my all-time favorite, sunset on the Kona Coast of Hawaii, July 2013.

HIsunset_palms-1019LR

Author: cathykellyphotography

Independent photographer based in Pittsburgh PA and Naples FL. Nature, landscape and portrait photography. Portfolio includes international work in USA, Europe, Asia, Australia and New Zealand. Email cathykellyphotography@gmail.com to review work in your area of interest. Nature portfolio includes flowers and wildlife. Prints and digital files for sale. See website: www.cathykellyphotography.com.