Anticipating Kauai

After a first visit to Hawaii (the Big Island) last July and my first photography workshop with Don Smith and Gary Hart in Utah last November, I will be merging two great experiences by meeting the instructors again on the island of Kauai — the Garden Isle (aka rainy and green), northernmost and oldest of Hawaii’s volcanic chain. I am hoping it will be much easier to wake up in the dark at 4:40am when the weather outside is more moderate than it was at 9,000 elevation (coldest photography ever!).

As we did in Utah, we will be visiting new and beautiful locations for sunrise and sunset for five days with our high-end cameras, lenses and tripods. (Here is one of my photographs of Bryce Canyon at dawn.)

 

Thor_dawn1-0831LR

Then, we will be using our accumulated knowledge in the capture and processing of these images and comparing notes and learning in classroom time. Since my last workshop in November, I have had more experience with nature excursions, the tripod, the histograms and the processing. I visited two state/national parks in Florida: Lover’s Key and the Everglades.  I also bought a new lens, the Nikon 24-70 zoom and a new Singh-Ray filter, the Color Combo Polarizer. I look forward to seeing what kind of magic will emerge from new locations in Kauai in conjunction with the cumulative investment in learning and equipment. As in Utah, I also look forward to meeting 10-12 new photographers and learning from them.

Stay tuned to this blog space through the end of June to see some new images. Gary Hart will lead us on a star gazing night shoot, too. Here is my favorite image from the Big Island of Hawaii last year. It just goes to show how important it is to go with the flow and act quickly when a unexpected event (in this case a girl running through the frame) creates a new image opportunity in the blink of an eye. The parents apologized, and I assured them it was okay; in truth, I couldn’t wait to get back to my computer to see how the image turned out.

CCK-HI2013-1023girlLR

 

Author: cathykellyphotography

Independent photographer based in Pittsburgh PA and Naples FL. Nature, landscape and portrait photography. Portfolio includes international work in USA, Europe, Asia, Australia and New Zealand. Email cathykellyphotography@gmail.com to review work in your area of interest. Nature portfolio includes flowers and wildlife. Prints and digital files for sale. See website: www.cathykellyphotography.com.