Andean Bear

Zoos are cool because they give you the chance to see the tremendous biodiversity of the creatures on the planet. In the best zoos with large habitats for the animals, you can observe animal behavior close up and even enjoy eye contact with an animal who would normally live on another continent. Such was the case when I visited the San Diego Zoo recently. The Andean bear (sometimes called the bear with sunglasses) was working on moving a tree in his habitat. You see, there was this tree trunk at a 45 degree angle, and it was bothering him. Watching him, I took about 14 photos of his work in progress. (I had my 200mm lens mounted on my Nikon, so I could shoot the animals close up that day. I shot with the lens wide open for short depth of field, throwing the background out of focus. Then, I worked really hard to hold the camera steady and continually refocus on the bear.) I thought he looked so much a like a human being trying to move something heavy. See what you think:

So, here's the problem...
So, here’s the problem…

 

Let's see if we can move this red trunk...
Let’s see if we can move this tree trunk…
If I just put all my weight on it and (grunt, grunt)
If I just put all my weight on it and (grunt, grunt)
There, that's better...
There, that’s better…
But I'd like it even lower (push, push)
But I’d like it even lower (push, push)
And a little bit THIS way...
And a little bit THIS way…
Aaaargh! (pushing down as hard as he can)
Aaaargh! (pushing down as hard as he can)
Hmmm. Do you think I need to push the other end?
Hmmm. Do you think I need to push the other end?
(Smiling) Now that's much better...
(Smiling) Now that’s much better…
Alright! Now I like it!
Alright! Now I like it!
Cathy, what do you think? Nice work?
Cathy, what do you think? Nice work?

Author: cathykellyphotography

Independent photographer based in Pittsburgh PA and Naples FL. Nature, landscape and portrait photography. Portfolio includes international work in USA, Europe, Asia, Australia and New Zealand. Email cathykellyphotography@gmail.com to review work in your area of interest. Nature portfolio includes flowers and wildlife. Prints and digital files for sale. See website: www.cathykellyphotography.com.