Southern Alps

One month after my return from the spectacular south island of New Zealand, I have finally begun to study my images and process a few at a time. Let’s begin with the Southern Alps, the spectacular mountain range along the west coast of the South Island that sparkle with snow all summer long. These photos were taken on December 8, 2014 about two weeks before the summer equinox, near the 45th South Latitude. I was driving the four-hour rural route from Queenstown to Milford Sound by myself, pulling off the road a few times to take photos.

In this first image, you can see the expanse of wild lupines in bloom along the creeks with the Southern Alps in the background. Three days later, when I drove back along this route, clouds obscured the mountains, and I was grateful to have taken these photos on Monday the 8th.

 

Lupines in December, only in New Zealand. The drive to Milford Sound.
Lupines in December, only in New Zealand. The drive to Milford Sound.

 

A little further down the road, I stopped and mounted the 70-200 zoom lens on my camera. I remembered NZ landscape photographer Trey Ratcliff talking about this type of composition, saying, “Don’t you feel like the mountains could go on forever?” Yes, this view gives that effect. The field also reminds me of Wyeth’s painting, “Christina’s World,” in which “Christina” in a rose colored dress sits in a maize field like this one and looks wistfully into the distance. I love the color contrast and the simplicity of this image.

Southern Alps in New Zealand, on the road to Milford Sound
Southern Alps in New Zealand, on the road to Milford Sound

There are many more images to come of Milford Sound where I spent the week of December 8th. Stay tuned to this photography blog!

Author: cathykellyphotography

Independent photographer based in Pittsburgh PA and Naples FL. Nature, landscape and portrait photography. Portfolio includes international work in USA, Europe, Asia, Australia and New Zealand. Email cathykellyphotography@gmail.com to review work in your area of interest. Nature portfolio includes flowers and wildlife. Prints and digital files for sale. See website: www.cathykellyphotography.com.