Signs Along the Way

By the end of my New Zealand trip, I realized that I should have committed myself at the beginning to taking photos of unusual signs. Foreign signs can be humorous reminders that you are outside your culture.  In sharing this collection, I hope I will inspire you to do the same as you travel.

My favorite was near Queenstown where my apparently fearless daughter Erin decided that bungy jumping would be a good Sunday activity. We did not stop at the “Liquid Courage” Bar, but we did use the rest room.

Unique rest room sign

Even better was the sign for the specially equipped rest room for people with disabilities.

NZ rest room sign. Kiwi sense of humor.
NZ rest room sign.
Kiwi sense of humor.

I’ll close with a G-rated handwritten sign that broke my heart, in a good way. This sign listed the categories for a low-key neighborhood dog show near Nelson, NZ. The event was like a tiny county fair with a little petting zoo, some rides, lots of good junk food, a horse show and a dog show. Clearly, the dog show was designed for the children to enjoy, giving every kind of dog a chance to win.

Dog show near Nelson, NZ
Dog show near Nelson, NZ

Author: cathykellyphotography

Independent photographer based in Pittsburgh PA and Naples FL. Nature, landscape and portrait photography. Portfolio includes international work in USA, Europe, Asia, Australia and New Zealand. Email cathykellyphotography@gmail.com to review work in your area of interest. Nature portfolio includes flowers and wildlife. Prints and digital files for sale. See website: www.cathykellyphotography.com.