Crocodile in the Everglades

Alligators and large wading birds I expected on my bike ride through Shark Valley in Everglades National Park. The crocodile was definitely a surprise! Shark Valley is located in the northeast quadrant of the Everglades “river of grass,” the mostly fresh water drainage from Lake Okeechobee.  Alligators thrive in fresh water or estuaries with a mix of fresh and salt water, while crocodiles are salt water creatures — mostly found further south in the Florida Keys.  Crocodiles are aggressive and are known to attack humans within striking distance. How very lucky that I saw this croc from a safe distance from the observation tower ramp. My guardian angel was on duty!

#crocodile, #croc, #Everglades, #nationalpark, #wildflife
Crocodile in Shark Valley, Everglades National Park

Stay tuned this week for more photo highlights of wildlife in Shark Valley, Everglades National Park.

I’ve just added some features to my blog that will allow you to subscribe to my blog and search for keywords to look up past blogs that interest you. My blogs are also sorted into categories that allow you to read past posts in nature, landscape, portraits, cities, art, life and travel. If you are interested in one of my blogs, I hope you will share it on Facebook or other social media. I would be happy to share my work with as many friends as possible. Thanks!

Author: cathykellyphotography

Independent photographer based in Pittsburgh PA and Naples FL. Nature, landscape and portrait photography. Portfolio includes international work in USA, Europe, Asia, Australia and New Zealand. Email cathykellyphotography@gmail.com to review work in your area of interest. Nature portfolio includes flowers and wildlife. Prints and digital files for sale. See website: www.cathykellyphotography.com.

Leave a Reply

